facebook status elaboration.

It started as a Facebook status:

I wish that running away would make the messiness in my brain go away… or that eating chocolate chips solved some issue somewhere… preferably here.

And sort of tumbled out from there:

I wish that hot showers could wash away more than just dirt…

or that being known was as easy as clicking on the Facebook tab at the top of this screen.

I wish that pillows comforted more than my face…

or that my insides didn’t know the difference between the middle of the party and the empty room at the end.

 

I wish my mind had an “off” button.

Or at least a “switch categories” button.

Or at the very least, a dial-down knob.  Like the range of settings on my space heater.

 

 

I wish I hadn’t just found myself in the middle of a week full of days where I’m grasping at the closest, most available, most touchable person or thing.  I mean a month – no, a lifetime of those kind of days.  Sheesh.

 

I know the undying ache is an arrow pointing to The Greater Reality.  I just wish it wasn’t quite so… achy.

 

I know He has set eternity in our hearts. *

I know I am to fix my eyes on what is unseen, for what is seen in temporary.**  I get that.

I know I am to set my mind on things above. ***

 

Mostly though I just wish…

that the unseen wasn’t so damn invisible,

that the eternal wasn’t so flipping elusive,

that the things above weren’t quite so far up there.

Mostly I wish that God was as easy to grab as my favorite cream-colored blanket.

 

But then, I suppose He wouldn’t be God.  And that would be no good at all.

{Ecclesiastes 3:11, 2 Corinthians 4:18, Colossians 3:2}

2 thoughts on “facebook status elaboration.

  1. Hey Lindsay,

    thanks for putting into words what i feel some times! you have a wonderful gift with words and a heart for God and His kingdom. you’re a pretty great encouragement. 🙂

    ~Noelle

Leave a Reply

