the whys of my raw food endeavor + my very own recipe for kick-a raw granola

I recently went on a raw food endeavor during the entire Lent season.  It was a life-altering experience I would highly recommend to anyone who is serious about achieving health and wholeness 🙂   Because I was very conscientious about the array of vegetables and fruits I took in, I found raw food to be an incredible way to both cleanse and re-nourish my body.  I quickly shed the extra winter pounds, dramatically improved my performance as a runner, and even saw the nagging cysts on my face shrink.  All my cravings completely changed, as did my entire perspective on food and eating.  I had more than just the health of my body in mind though when I embarked on this little journey.  Here’s an explanatory excerpt from my journal:

“I CHOOSE LIFE: The Whys of My Raw Food Endeavor

The primary dream I have in venturing on a raw food journey is to heal my body of disease – specifically the cystic acne that has been wreaking havoc on my face. 

I am choosing to do this little raw food experiment during Lent.  Lent represents the season during which Jesus journeyed to lay down His life that we may have life to the fullest.  By choosing to eat raw & living foods only, I am making every meal a prayer and a prophetic statement that I am choosing His LIFE for myself, my body, and my future. 

I am seeking healing, but I am also seeking Presence and Perspective.  I will not ever truly be alive without His Presence, and there are a myriad of things that cloud my view of His nearness.  Just as I choose to put my belief in something unseen, so also am I choosing life determinedly with every bite.  So much has been murky in my mind these last months, and I crave nothing more than to have the clarity of His Presence.  

In describing her raw food journey, my friend told me,  “The veil between eternity and here has become so THIN!”  I am clinging to these words.  With each meal, I want to be declaring to heaven, “You are so welcome in me.”  I want this fast to be a slap in the face to death and destruction.” 

~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~

Lindsay’s Kick-A Raw Granola

As I am an avid runner, I happened to be training for a half marathon throughout the duration of my raw food experience.  Shortly into the experience I found myself looking for ways to increase my caloric intake, as well as boost the amount of healthy fats my body needed.  Hunger propelled some experimentation, and along the way I discovered a way to make raw granola.  This raw granola was loaded with the substantial energy I need for long runs.  It is so simple to make and so very delicious that my housemates and I now eat it nearly every day.  (Even the raw food skeptics in the house will gobble this granola up!)

First, mix together equal parts of:

-raw cashew butter OR raw tahini OR organic natural peanut butter

-raw honey (local is best of course)

-coconut oil, slightly warmed so that it is in liquid form

Stir together in a bowl until all ingredients are well blended and all clumps have disappeared.  Add a sprinkling of sea salt as you are mixing.

Now add the following:

-organic raw rolled oats

-organic unsweetened shredded dried coconut

-organic raw sunflower seeds

-ground flax seed or chia seed

Use this general guideline for measuring: Add equal parts of coconut and sunflower seeds, but 2-3 times as much oats.  Stir the dry ingredients in with the wet mixture until all everything is well coated.

*Notes:

-This granola is best after it has set for a day.  We usually eat ours just plain, but it is also quite yummy with kefir or any kind of milk. 

-Most raw foodist-type folks are vegan.  This recipe includes raw honey, which is made by bees and is technically NOT vegan.  (You could perhaps try to make this recipe with a more vegan-appropriate sweetener such as raw agave or something of the like, but I have never tried.)

-Also, it is darn near impossible to find raw peanut butter. If you choose to make the oh-so-delicious Peanut Butter variety of this granola with regular ol’ roasted peanut butter, why just bear in mind the recipe is no longer 100% raw.  Buuuuuut, if you’re not super-hard-core-intense about the rawness of your food, well by all means, make some Mostly Raw Peanut Butter Granola.

Leave a Reply

